The Swan Theatre Company presents

The Memory of Water
By Shelagh Stephenson
Directed by Lyn Lockyer

Monday 15th to Saturday 20th November

Shelagh Stephenson's play explores both the tension between memory and reality, and the contribution of the past to the present, with tragi-comic results.

THE MEMORY OF WATER is a bittersweet, life affirming comedy about three sisters, meeting on the eve of their mother's funeral. Together they rummage through their collective memories, dredging up old stories, events and conflicts. Each has evolved their own way of dealing with the past but as emotion, disputed memory and alcohol all take their toll, they slowly dissolve into a chaos of hilarity and grief.

Performances end at approximately 10:10 pm

 

Forthcoming productions

  • Arcadia by Tom Stoppard

    Arcadia by Tom Stoppard

    Monday 13 November to Saturday 18 November, 19:30Tickets on sale from 23rd October

    A serious play about science, sex and landscape gardening. Tickets - SOLD OUT NOTE THAT THE SHOW STARTS AT 7.30 pm

     
  • Relatively Speaking 29 Nov - 2 Dec

    Relatively Speaking 29 Nov - 2 Dec

    Wednesday 29 November to Saturday 2 December, 19:45Tickets available on the door.

    The Civic Players next production is the comedy, Relatively Speaking by Alan Ayckbourn. Tickets now on sale.

     
  • A Christmas Concert

    A Christmas Concert

    Tuesday 12 December to Tuesday 12 December, 19:45

    Join us in the run up to the festive season with this special Christmas Concert, brought to you by Yeovil Community Orchestra at the Swan Theatre for one night only on Tuesday 12th December.

     
  • Whistleblower 15- 20 January

    Whistleblower 15- 20 January

    Monday 15 January to Saturday 20 January, 19:30Tickets on sale from 26th December

    A “whodunit” without a murder, this is a story of trust and mistrust, a story about when it’s right to be honest and when it’s necessary to deceive. Tickets on sale to the public from 26th December.

     
  • Brontë 12 - 17 March

    Brontë 12 - 17 March

    Monday 12 March to Saturday 17 March, 19:30Tickets on sale from 19th Frbruary

    'Brontë' is a modern and revealing look into the lives of three of the country's most treasured writers.

     
  • What The Butler Saw 7 - 12 May

    What The Butler Saw 7 - 12 May

    Monday 7 May to Saturday 12 May, 19:30Tickets on sale from 16th April

    What the Butler Saw is a farce written by the English playwright Joe Orton, who also wrote 'Entertaining Mr Sloane'.

     
  • July

    July

    Monday 16 July to Saturday 21 July, 19:30Tickets on sale from 25th June

    To be announced

     
  • The Tempest 17- 22 September

    The Tempest 17- 22 September

    Monday 17 September to Saturday 22 September, 19:30Tickets on sale from 27th August

    Shakespeare’s comedy about a major act of betrayal, ill treatment, the development of magic arts and a plot of revenge.

     
  • And Then There Were None 12 - 17 November

    And Then There Were None 12 - 17 November

    Monday 12 November to Saturday 17 November, 19:30Tickets on sale from 22nd October

    And Then There Were None, one of Christie’s most popular and critically acclaimed novels, was made into a stage play. Several film versions have been produced, the most celebrated of which is the 1945 version starring Barry Fitzgerald and Walter Huston.