The Swan Theatre Company presents

'Stevie'
By Hugh Whitemore
Directed by Robert Graydon

Monday 17th to Saturday 22nd January 2011

NOW CLOSED

Stevie's story unfolds as she addresses the audience directly and through flashbacks with the help of a narrator. It touches on her experiences of friendship, love and her interest in human mortality and especially on her relationship with her elderly Aunt, past romantic relationships and the fame she received in her later years.

Does Stevie escape her dull, middle-class suburban existence through her poetry or does her dull, middle-class existence allow her poetry to flourish? Throughout her life she never truly leaves the small house in Palmers Green.

The Swan has presented a number of Hugh Whitemore's plays, including 'Pack of Lies', 'Breaking the Code' and 'A Letter of Resignation', all very well received.


 

Forthcoming productions

  • Civic Players May 2018

    Civic Players May 2018

    Wednesday 23 May to Saturday 26 May, 19:45Tickets available on the door.

    Civic Players May production is 'Move Over, Mrs Markham'.

     
  • Plaza Suite 16 - 21 July

    Plaza Suite 16 - 21 July

    Monday 16 July to Saturday 21 July, 19:45Tickets on sale from 25th June

    This comedy takes place in a luxury suite in the Plaza hotel.

     
  • The Tempest 17- 22 September

    The Tempest 17- 22 September

    Monday 17 September to Saturday 22 September, 19:45Tickets on sale from 27th August

    Shakespeare’s comedy about a major act of betrayal, ill treatment, the development of magic arts and a plot of revenge.

     
  • The Last Five Years

    The Last Five Years

    Wednesday 26 September to Saturday 29 September, 19:45

    The Last Five Years, a musical - Wed 26th to Saturday 29th Sept

     
  • And Then There Were None 9 - 17 November

    And Then There Were None 9 - 17 November

    Friday 9 November to Saturday 17 November, 19:45Tickets on sale from 22nd October

    And Then There Were None, one of Christie’s most popular and critically acclaimed novels, was made into a stage play. Several film versions have been produced, the most celebrated of which is the 1945 version starring Barry Fitzgerald and Walter Huston.