The Swan Theatre Company presents

Stepping Out

By Richard Harris

Directed by Sheila Driver

Monday 16th - Saturday 21st May 2016

Stepping Out is a warm and good natured comedy from Richard Harris and chronicles several months in the life of a beginners tap class. Each of the eight students, who come from a variety of backgrounds, has his or her own reason for joining. Led by Mavis, their eternally patient teacher and accompanied by Mrs Fraser, the students strive to master the basics of dance. However the steps and routines are just a background for the real focus of the play - the relationships and interaction of these ten very different people. By the final performance, not only have the class members developed some dance skill but they have also overcome their inhibitions and personal conflicts.

Doors open 7:15pm, show starts 7:45pm.

TICKETS NOW ON SALE TO THE PUBLIC

 

Forthcoming productions

  • Civic Players May 2018

    Civic Players May 2018

    Wednesday 23 May to Saturday 26 May, 19:45Tickets available on the door.

    Civic Players May production is 'Move Over, Mrs Markham'.

     
  • Plaza Suite 16 - 21 July

    Plaza Suite 16 - 21 July

    Monday 16 July to Saturday 21 July, 19:45Tickets on sale from 25th June

    This comedy takes place in a luxury suite in the Plaza hotel.

     
  • The Tempest 17- 22 September

    The Tempest 17- 22 September

    Monday 17 September to Saturday 22 September, 19:45Tickets on sale from 27th August

    Shakespeare’s comedy about a major act of betrayal, ill treatment, the development of magic arts and a plot of revenge.

     
  • The Last Five Years

    The Last Five Years

    Wednesday 26 September to Saturday 29 September, 19:45

    The Last Five Years, a musical - Wed 26th to Saturday 29th Sept

     
  • And Then There Were None 9 - 17 November

    And Then There Were None 9 - 17 November

    Friday 9 November to Saturday 17 November, 19:45Tickets on sale from 22nd October

    And Then There Were None, one of Christie’s most popular and critically acclaimed novels, was made into a stage play. Several film versions have been produced, the most celebrated of which is the 1945 version starring Barry Fitzgerald and Walter Huston.