The Swan Theatre Company presents

She Stoops To Conquer

By Oliver Goldsmith
Directed by Andy Wood

Monday 17th - Saturday 22nd March

 Doors open 7:15pm, show starts 7:45pm.

Young Charles Marlow enjoys the company of barmaids, but is nervous and tongue-tied in the presence of ladies of wit and education. A trip to the country to meet Kate Hardcastle, the lady his father wants him to marry, results in mistakes and misunderstandings, mischief and mayhem.

Goldsmith's fast-moving romantic comedy was first performed in London in 1773. With its gallery of unforgettable comic characters, it is a genuine 18th century classic: hilarious and heart-warming.

SOLD OUT - next production is '45 Minutes' by Anya Reiss Wed 26th-Sat 29th March.

 

Forthcoming productions

  • Civic Players May 2018

    Civic Players May 2018

    Wednesday 23 May to Saturday 26 May, 19:45Tickets available on the door.

    Civic Players May production is 'Move Over, Mrs Markham'.

     
  • Plaza Suite 16 - 21 July

    Plaza Suite 16 - 21 July

    Monday 16 July to Saturday 21 July, 19:45Tickets on sale from 25th June

    This comedy takes place in a luxury suite in the Plaza hotel.

     
  • The Tempest 17- 22 September

    The Tempest 17- 22 September

    Monday 17 September to Saturday 22 September, 19:45Tickets on sale from 27th August

    Shakespeare’s comedy about a major act of betrayal, ill treatment, the development of magic arts and a plot of revenge.

     
  • The Last Five Years

    The Last Five Years

    Wednesday 26 September to Saturday 29 September, 19:45

    The Last Five Years, a musical - Wed 26th to Saturday 29th Sept

     
  • And Then There Were None 9 - 17 November

    And Then There Were None 9 - 17 November

    Friday 9 November to Saturday 17 November, 19:45Tickets on sale from 22nd October

    And Then There Were None, one of Christie’s most popular and critically acclaimed novels, was made into a stage play. Several film versions have been produced, the most celebrated of which is the 1945 version starring Barry Fitzgerald and Walter Huston.